WHY TELL ME ‘IT IS WELL’ WHEN YOU CAN HELP ME?

 

 

images.jpg

It is a gross abuse of faith to tell another brother or sister in Christ, ‘it is well’ when you can extend an arm of fellowship by solving or attempting to solve his/her problem. ‘It is well’ is not the same as providing bread on the table or paying hospital bills. It is not well if you can buy me a meal but rather choose to manipulate me by telling me it is well. How can it be well when I am hungry and you are not? How can it be well when my children are out of school and yours are not? How can it be well when a pastor can no more concentrate on the ministry of the word and prayer when there are bills yet unpaid?

Why tell me it is well when you can spare your lunch for me? Why tell me it is well when my husband was sick but you refused to lend any help until he died and now you’re willing to contribute handsomely towards his burial rites? Your penny that will put a smile on my face is worth more than a casual ‘it is well’ that will weaken my faith.

“If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, and one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit? Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone”. – James 2:15-17

It’s synonymous to death if you only pray for me rather than choosing to spare or share your lunch with me. I hear you say how many people will I share my lunch with? ‘Don’t be tired of doing good’ says the holy Scripture.

It’s meaningless to have food while others are hungry. The true meaning of Christianity is about sharing. Let’s be our brother’s keeper. Let’s not withhold when we can give. It is more blessed to give than to receive. It can only be well if you can contribute your quota and then hand the rest over to God.

It is vanity to amount wealth when your brother is hungry. It is vanity to build a big bank account when people around you are suffering. What will it profit you if you have everything at the expense of brethren?

It is well.

 

Leave a Reply

